# **BRIGHTON & HOVE CITY COUNCIL**

## COUNCIL

## 3.00pm 25 JULY 2019

# **COUNCIL CHAMBER, HOVE TOWN HALL**

## **MINUTES**

Present: Councillors Phillips (Chair), Robins (Deputy Chair), Simson, Allcock, Appich, Atkinson, Bagaeen, Barnett, Bell, Brennan, Brown, Childs, Clare, Davis, Deane, Druitt, Ebel, Evans, Fishleigh, Fowler, Gibson, Grimshaw, Hamilton, Heley, Henry, Hill, Hills, Hugh-Jones, Janio, Knight, Lewry, Littman, Lloyd, Mac Cafferty, Mears, McNair, Miller, Moonan, Nemeth, Nield, O'Quinn, Osborne, Peltzer Dunn, Pissaridou, Platts, Powell, Rainey, Shanks, C Theobald, Wares, West, Wilkinson, Williams and Yates

## **PART ONE**

#### 1 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

- Disclosable pecuniary interests; 1(a)
- 1.1 There were no declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests
- 1(b) Any other interests required to be registered under the local code;
- 11.2 There were no interests to be registered under the local code
- 1(c) Any other general interest as a result of which a decision on the matter might reasonably be regarded as affecting you or a partner more than a majority of other people or businesses in the ward/s affected by the decision.
- 1.3 There were no general interests declared

#### 2 MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS.

2.1 The Mayor welcomed everyone present to this Special Meeting.

#### APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND ALDERWOMEN 3

COUNCIL 25 JULY 2019

3.1 The Mayor said that this item related to the proposed appointment of previous councillors as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen of the City Council of Brighton & Hove. The appointment is made in recognition of the service given by those past councillors to the Council, the wards they represented and the city.

The Mayor proposed that the following past councillors should be appointed:

Jayne Bennett, Hove Park Ward
Denise Cobb, Westbourne Ward
Lynda Hyde, Rottingdean Coastal Ward
Mo Marsh, Moulsecoomb & Bevendean Ward
Anne Meadows, Moulsecoomb & Bevendean Ward
Gill Mitchell, East Brighton Ward
Warren Morgan, East Brighton Ward
Ann Norman, Withdean Ward
Ken Norman, Withdean Ward
Geoffrey Theoblad OBE, Patcham Ward

3.2 The Mayor called on Councillor Platts, Leader of the Council to second the motion.

Councillor Platts formerly seconded the motion.

3.3 The Mayor called on Councillor Mac Cafferty, Leader of the Opposition and Convener of the Green Group to second the motion.

Councillor Mac Cafferty said that today the Council recognised the hard work of our former colleagues and noted that together they had provided hundreds of years of service, which was an amazing achievement. He thanked them for their service and the important role they played in the city. He said that weren't many ways to thank them for their service, and so it was important to formally convey the title of Aldermen and Alderwomen to some of them and to provide a certificate of thanks to others. He formally seconded the motion.

3.4 The Mayor called on Councillor Bell, Leader of the Conservative Group to second the motion.

Councillor Bell welcomed the former councillors to the meeting and thanked them for all the work they had done. He particularly wanted to thank Geoffrey Theobald who had given over 50 years to public service. He formally seconded the motion.

- 3.5 The Mayor said that the motion to nominate the aforementioned persons as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen had been moved and asked those present to approve the motion. The motion was agreed.
- 3.6 The Mayor presented a certificate to those listed in paragraph 3.1 in commemoration of their appointment.
- 3.7 The Mayor said that several of the previous councillors had chosen not to stand for reelection and others had been unsuccessful at the recent elections. The Mayor thanked

COUNCIL 25 JULY 2019

them for their service to the Council and the residents of the City and wanted to move a vote of thanks to the following departing councillors:

Karen Barford, Queen's Park Ward
Tom Bewick, Westbourne Ward
Julie Cattell, Preston Park Ward
Dan Chapman, Queen's Park Ward
Emma Daniel, Hanover & Elm grove Ward
Penny Gilbey, North Portslade Ward
Louisa Greenbaum, St Peter's & North Laine Ward
Saoirse Horan, Goldsmid Ward
Michael Inkpin-Leissner, Hollingdean & Stanmer Ward
Amanda Knight, Goldsmid Ward
Adrian Morris, Queen's Park Ward
Dick Page, Hanover & Elm Grove Ward
Ollie Sykes, Brunswick & Adelaide Ward
Nick Taylor, Withdean Ward
Andrew Wealls. Central Hove Ward

- 3.8 The Mayor asked those present to approve the motion. The motion was agreed.
- 3.9 The Mayor presented a certificate of thanks to those listed in paragraph 3.6 in recognition of their contribution to the City and their ward.

## 4 CLOSE OF MEETING

4.1 The Mayor thanked everyone for attending this special meeting, and offered her congratulations to those who had been conferred as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen, and declared the meeting closed.

The meeting concluded at 3.30	)pm	
Signed	Chair	
Dated this	day of	2019